Disciplined and Loved

Hebrews 12:5-6– You have forgotten the encouraging words that call you his children: “My child, don’t think the Lord’s discipline is worth nothing, and don’t stop trying when he corrects you. The Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as his child.” (Proverbs 3:11-12)

1 John 5:1 says “anyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is a child of God”. As a true child of God, you go through periods of discipline. Any parent who truly loves their child will discipline them. The scripture above indicates that discipline is good, because it reminds us that we are God’s children. I have a nine-year-old daughter whom I’ve disciplined quite a bit over the years. But, in all honesty, I am thankful that God doesn’t treat me the way I treat her. I hold her to a pretty high standard, with lots of expectations (some of them I will admit are unnecessary), and I holler and yell… a lot. But God is patient with me. And every time I experience God’s discipline, I am reminded of how much He truly loves me, cares for me, and wants to provide for me. How much different would it be for my child if I disciplined her with the same grace, patience, and love that our Father uses with me?

James 1:2-4 says that when we undergo testing, we should be full of joy because troubles test your faith, and that produces patience. If we want to grow, and become more mature believers, we must endure the discipline of God. It says in Hebrews 12 that, “We do not enjoy being disciplined. It is painful, but later, after we have learned from it, we have peace, because we start living in the right way.” Whatever sufferings, trials, or testing you may be enduring, know that God wants you to learn and grow from it. Rejoice, and know that God will give you peace and strength.

Leave a Reply

