God’s Great Mercy

“Oh, give thanks to the LORD, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever.” (Psalm 106:1, 107:1, 118:1, 136:1)

Many times in the last couple of weeks I have thought about what I was going to write about next, only to have my mind consumed with praises and gratefulness to God for all He has done. The above scripture says that “His mercy endures forever”. He is a merciful, wonderful, amazing God, who shows His love for us, time and time again, even when we are unloving, ungrateful, and undeserving.

I can’t help but look back on my life and point out all the times I should have failed. So many times I was trapped in my sin, unwilling to acknowledge God in my situation (1 Timothy 1:13). I attempted to live my own life according to my own will, and the results were always disappointing. But they should have been worse. There were times, in both mine and my husband’s lives that we should have been much worse off than we were. I have made enough bad choices to ruin SEVERAL people’s lives. I’ve mistreated people. I’ve been greedy, selfish, shortsighted, and extremely judgmental. My husband would admit to his failures, as well. Not to mention he was in a near fatal car crash that left him with only minor injuries. And yet, here we are, happy, healthy, and well provided for. The only explanation I have for this is the fact that God has shown great Mercy on us.

I would like to emphasize something here before I continue. This is not to say that somehow I deserve this mercy (Titus 3:5). Just like grace is “unmerited favor”, mercy is “unmerited compassion”. I am well aware of this fact, and that is why I am writing today- to praise Him for His mercy. It is His compassion and kindness that has touched me and placed me in safety.

Psalm 130:3 says, “If You, LORD, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand?” And Psalm 143:2 says, “Do not enter into judgment with Your servant, for in Your sight no one living is righteous.” God’s mercy on us means that He doesn’t punish us according to our sins. Praise God! I would be living a miserable, painful life, full of suffering if God punished me for every wrong I had committed in my short 30 years of life. What we deserve is not what we get. The Christian Band “Newsboys” sings a song that has always stuck with me. They sing, “when we get what we don’t deserve (heaven, grace, mercy, etc) it’s a real good thing…when we don’t get what we deserve (punishment, suffering, death) it’s a real good thing.”

And because God has mercy on us, He is patient with us, waiting for us to ask for forgiveness, and stop sinning. 2 Peter 3:9 says, “The Lord is not slow in doing what he promised—the way some people understand slowness. But God is being patient with you. He does not want anyone to be lost, but he wants all people to change their hearts and lives.” This is a demonstration of God’s love. He is merciful, kind, and patient with us, wanting none of us to perish. (Ephesians 2:4-9; John 3:16)

If you want to experience God’s mercy, start by confessing the wrongs you’ve done. Proverbs 28:13 says, “He who covers his sins will not prosper, but whoever confesses and forsakes them will have mercy.” “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:8-9).

We experience God’s mercy because of His great love for us- that love was expressed in its ultimate form when He sent Jesus to this world- to teach the gospel, and die on the cross, in order that our sins would be forgiven. I can’t help but feel humbled by that.

Praise God for His mercy, which He shows to us through Jesus. What an amazing thing.

Leave a Reply

