Habakuk’s Prayer

I had my first experience fasting and praying yesterday- it wasn’t anything to brag about, just started small. My reason was to join other members of my church in praying for our ministry, our families, and the community. What I experienced wasn’t a coincidence- God has been drawing me to him, and I finally was awakened to it yesterday.

I went to a Prayer Group with a friend of mine- she goes once a week on her lunch break, and since I was fasting, I figured it would be good to go- not just to pray, but also to get my mind off of food! The couple who hosted were very loving and kind, and so welcoming. The other person in the room is also a friend of mine, so it was very comfortable there. This made for an easy experience in a new setting. I will give thanks to God for that.

The couple who hosted loved each other. They spoke of praying together- and gave a testimony of answered prayer. The love they shared touched me and brought emotions to the surface. They read from Habbakuk 3:17-19 which is at the end of Habbakuk’s prayer:

Habakkuk Rejoices
17 Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: 18 Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.19 The LORD God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places.

A flood of emotions came over me and I had to excuse myself. I was embarrassed for crying, but as I tried to calm myself down, I realized that God was calling me- He was calling me to get closer to Him. Calling me to trust in Him. Even when things around us are falling apart, ceasing to function, and failing to grow, YET we still give thanks to God. He calls us, he gives us hind feet to climb to the top of our mountains of suffering, to come out more alive then before. Praise God for having mercy on me, and gently leading me to an understanding of his amazing love for me.

I will continue on this journey of growing closer to God.  He is my comfort, my joy, and my salvation.  I can see that now.  It’s not just something I say anymore- it’s something I know- in my heart.  I may be in a desert, but the Lord is my strength. 

“O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. 2 I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. 3 Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. 4 I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. 5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.” (Psalm 63:1-5)

One thought on “Habakuk’s Prayer

  1. my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water..how well I know this! 🙂 Hang in there my friend. In the search for the Lord and the earnest desire to know Him we can never go wrong, and He will never leave us.

Leave a Reply

