God Answers Prayer

One thing I’ve learned about myself in the last couple years: I have VERY little faith. Now, I didn’t used to think that. I used to think that I was all kinds of righteous with a faith like a rock. Now, not so much.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4

When we go through tough times, we tend to lean more on God. We pray, sometimes many times, for God to deliver us from our suffering. What we fail to realize is, that sometimes it is those times of struggle that are the answer to prayer.

I recently read something that implied that when we pray, we tend not to expect God to act. It’s certainly true in my case. I prayed for a change. I begged God to bring a new outcome to a difficult situation, and what I got was a season of mourning. And this week I looked back and saw the bigger picture. That season of mourning WAS my answer to prayer.

When we suffer, we are driven to seek God. Why? Because we are aware of our humanness. We are not in control- God is. And God allows some of us to suffer as a way to strengthen our faith. I had no idea that when I prayed for more faith, I would have to face incredible doubt, fear, and worry.

But you know what? The trials produced perseverance. They drove me to trust God. The brought me to my knees to fully rely on God’s ability to change the situation. And my faith increased.

I am so thankful that God knows what I need. He answers my prayers exceedingly more than I ever thought possible. Praise Him.

Leave a Reply

